Becquerel Prize 2019

The Becquerel Prize 2019 is awarded to

Dr. Pierre Verlinden, Consultant, Non-Executive Director to PV companies, Visiting Professor at Sun Yat-sen University (Guangzhou)

The prize will be awarded at the opening of this year’s European Photovoltaic Solar Energy Conference, Marseille, 09. September 2019.

He receives the award in honour of his scientific and technological merits in the development of high-efficiency photovoltaics. The decision of the Becquerel Committee is based on the outstanding work of Dr. Verlinden on the design of high-efficiency solar cells, modules and systems including back contact and rear side passivated silicon solar cells.

Throughout his career, Dr. Verlinden has pioneered the development of advanced solar cell structures, not limiting his work to just scientific progress but focusing on feasible implementation for industrial mass production. This combination of deep scientific understanding and his contributions to the global PV industry makes his work unique for the progress of photovoltaics over the last 40 years. He has been very active in the global photovoltaic scientific community, serving on numerous scientific boards. Committed to education and teaching for decades, Dr. Verlinden has passed on his great passion and deep knowledge of photovoltaics to generations of young scientists as well as manufacturing engineers.