The Becquerel Prize Committee confirms its commitment to the award in particular in the “Becquerel Year"; March 24th 2020 was the 200th anniversary of the birth of Edmond Becquerel. Despite the pandemic the Becquerel Prize 2020 will be awarded.
Nomination of candidates (Deadline May 24th 2020)

The Alexandre Edmund Becquerel Prize was established in 1989 by the European Commission on the occasion of the 150th anniversary of Becquerel’s classical experiment in which he discovered the photovoltaic effect. Its purpose is to honour scientific, technical or managerial merit in the development of photovoltaic solar energy, attained over a long period of continuous achievements, or very exceptionally, for some extraordinary invention or discovery. It is primarily a European Award but not restricted exclusively to European citizens.

As Chairman of the Becquerel Prize Committee, I am pleased to announce the nomination campaign for the year 2020. The Prize will be awarded in September 2020 on the occasion of the European Photovoltaic Solar Energy Conference and Exhibition (EU PVSEC) in Lisbon, Portugal.

The members of the Becquerel Prize Committee kindly invite you to take part in the nomination process for the year 2020.

To nominate a candidate it is necessary to fill-in the enclosed Nomination Form and return it the earliest possible and not later than Sunday, May 24th 2020. The Nomination Forms will be collected on my behalf by Ms. Maria Hemming, PSE Conferences GmbH (hemming[at]

Every nomination should be accompanied by a page containing an explanation why the person who nominates someone believes that he/she deserves to get the award.

Please accept the following basic rules:

  •     A person may not nominate him/herself.
  •     Members of the Becquerel Prize Committee cannot be nominated.

Please attach to the nomination form a list of technical and scientific publications and/or achievements in the area of photovoltaics and a curriculum vitae of the person nominated by you.

We thank you in advance for your contribution that will guarantee a high level of qualified candidates.

Yours sincerely,
Prof.  Joachim Luther
Chairman of the Becquerel Prize Committee
Freiburg, Germany