Bylaws of the Becquerel Prize Committee

- 1. The Alexandre Edmond Becquerel Prize was established in 1989 by the European Commission at the occasion of the 150th anniversary of Becquerel's classical experiment in which he discovered the photovoltaic effect. Its purpose is to honour scientific, technical or managerial merit in the development of photovoltaic solar energy, attained over a long period of continuous achievements, or very exceptionally, for some extraordinary invention or discovery. It is primarily a European Award but not restricted exclusively to European citizens.
- 2. The Prize is awarded periodically to a single individual. The prize cannot be awarded posthumously. The Prize cannot be shared nor given to an institution or team.
- 3. This periodicity is linked to the European Photovoltaic Solar Energy Conference, of one year, at whose opening the Prize shall be awarded in a solemn ceremony.
- 4. The Becquerel Prize is granted by the European Commission and awarded in the name of the European Photovoltaic community at the annual European Photovoltaic Solar Energy Conference. The Becquerel Prize Committee selects the individual to be honoured with the prize. The Committee must maintain the spirit of the prize, implementing the necessary modifications to the bylaws to insure in perpetuity the selection of appropriate candidates.
- 5. This committee is formed by: (a) all the past awardees, (b) the Chairperson of the European Photovoltaic Solar Energy Conference where the prize will be awarded, (c) one representative of the European Commission, (d) the organiser of the conference where the prize will be awarded.
- 6. The Committee is chaired by one of the past awardees. He/she must be elected by the Committee after the annual awards ceremony of the prize. His/her term will expire after the next awards ceremony. The Chairperson can be re-elected.
- 7. With the exception of changes of the bylaws any decision of the committee must be taken by the majority of votes among all members participating in the vote with the Chairperson's vote deciding in case of a tie between opposite options. Assemblies and voting can be held without physical presence, but the usual rules of information and debate held in assemblies with physical presence must be respected in all cases. Secret votes are forbidden for the committee members. Changes of the bylaws have to be approved by a two thirds majority of votes among all members participating in the vote. The chairperson announces the meeting of the committee which will normally be held at the annual European Photovoltaic Solar Energy Conference after the awards ceremony.

- 8. The Becquerel Prize consists of a diploma including a short notice of the Alexandre Edmond Becquerel germinal achievement in photovoltaics. It must also mention the edition of the Prize, the awardee's name and affiliation and a mention of the award motivation. If possible it must be complemented by a check. The diploma will be signed by a Commission Representative and the chair of the Becquerel committee.
- 9. The prize is announced publicly for submission of proposals for new candidates together with the announcement of the conference. Proposals should be addressed to the awards chair. The announcement to the PV community shall be made in a broad way; at least via the website of the conference where the prize is granted and via the website of the Becquerel Prize Committee. Proposals of new candidates have to be accompanied by a justification including a list of scientific and technical publications and/or achievements in the area of photovoltaics as well as a curriculum vitae of the proposed candidate. The Becquerel Committee screens the proposals and identifies by means of the procedure outlined in section 10 candidates who may in principle become Becquerel Prize awardees. In the context of these bylaws these persons are called "nominees".
- 10. Approximately five months before the Prize ceremony the awards chair sends all received proposals for new candidates including the additional information (section 9) to the Prize committee for evaluation. All proposals that are supported by at least 25% of the members of the Committee participating in the voting are regarded as nominees and are added to the existing list of nominees, as carried forward from the preceding year. In this procedure each individual member of the committee may vote for one or several proposals submitted according to section 9. The awards chair will distribute the updated list of existing nominees before each Committee meeting (section 7) to all Committee Members.
- 11. Approximately four months before the Prize ceremony the awards chair initiates a first vote. The members of the committee may vote for three different nominees from the list of nominees (section 10). Those nominees who receive zero votes during this procedure are taken off from the list of nominees.
- 12. Approximately three months before the Prize ceremony the awards chair prepares a list for a second voting. This list contains candidates who have received the highest number of votes in the first voting process. The chair will then submit this list to the committee for the second vote. The procedure for the voting is laid down in section7; the criteria are defined in section 1 and 9.
- 13. In the case that one candidate of the second voting process receives the majority of the votes cast he/she is the winner of the Becquerel Prize. If none of the candidates receives the majority of the votes in the second voting a third voting will be initiated by the awards chair. For the third and final vote the awards chair prepares a list with the two candidates (or more if there are ties) who have received the highest number of votes in the second voting process. The chair will then submit this list to

the committee for the final vote. The procedure for the voting is laid down in section 7: the criteria are defined in section 1 and 9.

- 14. The ceremony should consist of a Laudatio of the awardee. The Laudator shall be chosen by the Becquerel Prize Committee Chairperson, usually at the suggestion of the awardee, followed by the offering of the award itself, by a Commission Representative, and finally by a keynote speech given by the awardee.
- 15. The awardee will be notified of his/her selection by a letter jointly signed by a Commission Representative and the Becquerel Prize Committee Chairperson at the latest two months before the ceremony. At this time the awardee's name should be published on the websites of the Becquerel Prize Committee and of the Conference. Moreover, the awardee and his or her lecture should be announced in the printed conference program

February 2015
Prof. Joachim Luther
(Chairman of the Becquerel Prize Committee)