European Becquerel Prize for Outstanding Merits in Photovoltaics

To mark the 150th anniversary of Alexandre-Edmond Becquerel's discovery of the photovoltaic effect in 1839, the European Commission founded in 1989 the European Becquerel Prize for outstanding contributions to the development of Photovoltaic Solar Energy. It is awarded for the fifteenth time in 2007 on the occasion of the 22nd European Photovoltaic Solar Energy Conference in Milan. The Prize winner was selected by the Becquerel Prize Committee from proposals submitted by prominent members of the Photovoltaic Community.

Prof. Arvind Shah

is the fifteenth Becquerel Prize winner. He receives the Becquerel Award for his ground-breaking work on Silicon thin film solar cells. He is the founder of the Photovoltaics Laboratory at the Institute of Microtechnology of the University of Neuchâtel were he developed with his team the VHF (Very High Frequency) deposition technique for high-rate low cost deposition of amorphous silicon. At his laboratory he further developed microcrystalline silicon as a novel and viable solar cell material.

The PV Laboratory in Neuchâtel under Arvind Shah subsequently demonstrated the concept of the microcrystalline-amorphous ("micromorph") tandem solar cell. This tandem solar cell basically combines the advantages of amorphous and microcrystalline silicon. The "micromorph" concept has become one of the main avenues followed worldwide by industrial laboratories involved in establishing low-cost solar cell production.

With this Prize, the Commission expresses its recognition to Prof. Arvind Ahah for his extraordinary achievements in the field of PV Solar Electricity.

Dr. Heinz Ossenbrink Head of the Renewable Energies Unit European Commission DG Joint Research Centre