## **European Becquerel Prize for Outstanding Merits in Photovoltaics**

To mark the 150th anniversary of Alexandre-Edmond Becquerel's discovery of the photovoltaic effect in 1839, the European Commission founded in 1989 the European Becquerel Prize for outstanding contributions to the development of Photovoltaic Solar Energy. It is awarded for the twentieth time in 2012 on the occasion of the 27th European Photovoltaic Solar Energy Conference in Frankfurt. After a public nomination phase the Prize winner was selected by the Becquerel Prize Committee.

## Dr. Winfried Hoffmann

is the twentieth Becquerel Prize winner. He is awarded the Becquerel Prize for his pioneering work in the industrialisation of photovoltaic technologies.

Winfried Hoffmann did pioneering work in application oriented research and development on both wafer-based and thin-film photovoltaic energy conversion. Through well targeted co-operations he established an intensive and highly effective information exchange between academia and industry which fostered substantially the progress in photovoltaics.

In leading positions in industry Winfried Hoffmann was the driving force behind the set-up of innovative large scale production sites as well as the manufacture of novel production equipment. In particular the integrated SmartSolarFab was one of the pioneering steps in photovoltaic manufacture.

Winfried Hoffmann strongly contributed to the market stimulation of photovoltaics through his tireless engagement in national and international organisations; for many years he was President of the European Photovoltaic Industry Association (EPIA) and the German Bundesverband Solarwirtschaft (BSW). Winfried Hoffmann assisted in many European countries in the introduction of photovoltaic market support programs. With his engagement on the political level he helped to bring photovoltaic electricity generation on its way towards a future sustainable energy supply.

With this Prize, the European Photovoltaic Community at its gathering in Frankfurt, Germany, expresses its recognition to Dr. Winfried Hoffmann for his extraordinary achievements in the field of PV Solar Electricity.

Signatures