European Becquerel Prize for Outstanding Merits in Photovoltaics

To mark the 150th anniversary of Alexandre-Edmond Becquerel's discovery of the photovoltaic effect in 1839, the European Commission founded in 1989 the European Becquerel Prize for outstanding contributions to the development of Photovoltaic Solar Energy.

It is awarded in May 2006 on the occasion of the 4th World Conference on Photovoltaic Energy Conference in Hawaii. The Prize winner was elected by prominent members of the World Photovoltaic Community and confirmed by the Becquerel Prize Committee.

Dr. Dieter Bonnet

is the thirteenth Becquerel Prize winner. He was one of the pioneers of solar cells derived from II-VI compounds. He has committed his whole professional life to their development and promotion.

From the 1960s onwards, he was one of Europe's leaders in the field and did not vacillate when the world's PV policy was less supportive. Today's commercial successes prove him right. Dr. Dieter Bonnet started his career in 1965 at the Battelle Institute in Frankfurt/Germany. In 1970, he developed the world's first CdTe/CdS thin-film solar cells in the presently known configuration and in 1972 he achieved an AMO efficiency of 6 %. In 1993, he created the successful solar firm ANTEC in Germany.

He has initiated SOLARPACT, a global network that connects research groups and industrial units to promote the technology of photovoltaic modules based on CdTe and related components in view of a cost-competitive mass production and is currently the co-ordinator of it.

With this Prize, the Commission expresses its recognition to Dr. Bonnet for his achievements in the field of PV Solar Electricity.